Trusty Sidekick [Kheera-Pudina Raita]

As messy as you like.

 Call it Desi ketchup.

Raita is served as a condiment and goes with just about everything. It’s added to dishes to adjust their flavour.

The cooling cucumber, mint and yogurt in this raita can mitigate the heat of chilies.

But raita isn’t meant to blanket a dish — it’s used in moderation. It’s not just yogurt — it’s seasoned and flavourful. 

 

Kheera-Pudina Raita (Cucumber-Mint Raita)

1 cup cucumber, grated
2 cups plain yogurt, beaten
2 tbsp mint leaves, finely chopped
1generous tsp toasted cumin powder
1 tsp sugar
¼ tsp toasted coriander powder
¼ tsp black salt
big pinch red chilli powder
Salt to taste
Mint leaves, chaat masala, red chilli powder and toasted cumin powder for garnishing

Stir cucumber, mint and yogurt until well combined.

Add sugar, black salt, toasted coriander powder, toasted cumin powder and salt to taste. Mix well.

Refrigerate 15 minutes before serving.

Top with mint leaves, pinch of chaat masala, pinch of red chilli powder and pinch of toasted cumin powder.

3 thoughts on “Trusty Sidekick [Kheera-Pudina Raita]

  1. Pingback: Ginger, Mint, Bones and Plum Pits [Chicken Biryani] « Zeelicious

  2. Hey! I know tjis is somewhat offf topic but I wwas wondering which
    blog platform are yyou uing for this site?
    I’m getting fed up oof WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m loopking at options for another platform.
    I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  3. Hi! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if
    you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?

    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding
    one? Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

