Baby Olivia [Anda Ki Bhujia]

Brunch is my favourite meal.

This past Sunday’s brunch holds a particularly special place in my heart, as it was part of a baby shower to celebrate the upcoming arrival of my little niece, Olivia. The shower was held at the Courtyard Restaurant in the ByWard Market.

Olivia will be my sister’s first child, my parents’ first grandchild and my grandparents’ first great-grandchild.

Until a few days ago, Olivia was expected to arrive May 17. But my sister’s doctor has told her that he miscalculated the date. Now we’re expecting Olivia two days earlier.

This change of date resonates with me because I have another friend who is due on May 15. My friend hasn’t decided on a name for her baby boy, but she has considered Oliver.

Star-crossed lovers?

Here’s a brunch recipe in honour of Olivia’s party:

Anda Ki Bhujia

5 large eggs
1/4 tsp garam masala
1/2 green chili, sliced fine
2 scallions, sliced fine
1 small onion, diced fine
2 tbsp cilantro, roughly chopped
salt and pepper to taste
butter for frying

Beat the eggs with the garam masala. Add a bit of cracked black pepper. Set aside.

Melt butter in a small pan over medium heat. Add the onion and some salt. Sweat the onion until it turns translucent. Add the green chili and scallions. Saute 1 minute.

Add the eggs. Using a wooden spoon, stir slowly and continuously (as you would a risotto) until the eggs are cooked, about 4 minutes.

Adjust seasoning and stir in cilantro.

Serve with toast and a green chili.

Leave a Reply

