Canada Day [Smashed Cucumber, Blackberry and Pistachio Salad]

M hay and I did some light eating today.

We’re not so patriotic, but are headed to Hintonburger for Canada Day tomorrow. That’s some serious calories.

This salad is lovely — cooling and tangy.

I made a couple of modifications based on what I had available.

Smashed Cucumber, Mulberry and Pistachio Salad
*from Purple Citrus and Sweet Perfume by Silvena Rowe

4 small Lebanese cucumbers, peeled
½ cup Greek yogurt
½ cup pistachios, lightly toasted
20 fresh mint leaves
1 tbsp chopped fresh dill (I omitted)
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
¼ cup pomegranate molasses (you really only need about 1/8 cup)
8 fresh mulberries or black raspberries (I used blackberries as neither of these were available)

Place the cucumbers on a large board and, using a rolling pin, smash them into large chunks. Put the broken pieces of cucumber into a large bowl with the yogurt, pistachios, mint and dill. Gently toss the ingredients to combine. Season.

Spoon into serving plates, drizzle with the pomegranate molasses and top with the fresh mulberries.

Serves 4.

4 thoughts on “Canada Day [Smashed Cucumber, Blackberry and Pistachio Salad]

  1. Haha, I’ve always wanted to beat up cucumber – I hate the stuff :D. I thought they were blackberries 😀 I was about to correct you and then I saw the recipe :D. Remove the cucumber and I’d be all over this 😀

  2. Hmmm….the addition of molasses is very interesting. I adore molasses but have never tried it in a salad. I have cucumbers in my refrigerator….now I just need to find some berries.

Leave a Reply

