Fathers [Steak Tartare with Potato Chips]

steak tartare5

I may be a product of the ’80s, but in modern terms I would say the most important lesson I have learned from my dad is “haters gonna hate”.

My family values independence — you do you, I do me. I remember calling in to book my own dentist appointments when I was less than 10 years old. I never got an allowance. I never got to drive my parents’ cars. I chose my own career path. I paid for my own education. I have always paid my own rent and bills. Both of my siblings got the same deal. All of this isn’t to say that my parents weren’t involved, but that they wanted their children to be involved, too.

steak tartare2steak tartare4steak tartare3

Taking control of yourself is everything in life. My parents showed me that an irresponsible person can’t develop a fulfilling self-identity. And self-possessed doesn’t mean selfish. You can’t help others — take on dependents — until you yourself are independent.

steak tartare07steak tartare6steak tartare08

Steak tartare may look and sound fancy, but it’s actually a great way to use up cheap cuts of meat. Tough cuts with little fat marbling, like flatiron and eye of round, are ideal for steak tartare.

This dish is very much inspired by my dad. Although I have never seen him eat raw meat, he is completely addicted to potato chips and will take any excuse to eat them. Dad, you will remember how much I enjoyed eating potato chips with you on Ken’s Beach with my life jacket on. xox

Steak Tartare with Potato Chips

*Eating raw meat is perfectly safe as long as the flesh is handled with care. Start by buying your steak at a reputable butcher. Use the meat within a day of purchasing it. When dicing the steak, make sure that your cutting board and hands are clean. Serve the dish immediately. Steak tartare is not suitable as a make-ahead dish and leftovers are not fit for consumption.

For the steak tartare:

170 g flatiron steak
1 egg yolk
5 g capers, minced
5 g shallots, minced
5 g garlic, minced
4 g parsley, minced
black pepper, to taste
salt, to taste
cayenne, to taste
zest of half a lemon
olive oil to bring together

Toss together all ingredients except for the egg yolk. Add just enough olive oil to bring the meat together. Mould directly onto the serving plate using a 4 1/2-inch ring. Slide the ring off by slowly lifting it up. Top the tartare with the egg yolk. Sprinkle the yolk with salt and pepper. Serve immediately. Serves two as an appetizer or one as a main course.

For the potato chips:

3 Russet potatoes
canola oil for deep frying
salt

Heat 3 inches of oil in a deep, heavy-bottomed pot. Ideally the oil should only come one third of the way up the edges of the pot. Heat the oil to 375F.

Meanwhile, scrub and slice the potatoes paper thin on a mandoline. Soak the sliced potatoes in water for 5-10 minutes. Drain and pat dry.

Fry in batches until golden and crisp, 1-2 minutes. Remove with a slotted spoon onto a paper towel-lined rack. Immediately sprinkle with salt.

fry potato chips at 375 1.5-2 mins

slice, rinse, fry, salt

2 thoughts on “Fathers [Steak Tartare with Potato Chips]

    • Thanks! The secret ingredient is definitely the lemon zest. I prefer the bright flavour to the heavy/spicy flavour of mustard or too-familiar flavour of ketchup in my tartare.

Leave a Reply

