Scolded [Creme Fraiche, Cucumber, and Cabbage Salad with Nigella Seeds]

cabbage and nigella salad1

Decision making. Damn do I hate waiting for the slowpokes. Yes, due diligence, but let’s go!

Except that I am the worst decision-maker ever when it comes to what I want to eat. And my husband totally called me on it this morning on the way to brunch, when I changed my mind about our destination as we were walking there. I do hate to be scolded by him, but he’s right.

cabbage and nigella salad2

I have a tendency to not follow-through with food. I buy things for specific dishes, then use them for other things and create menu-planning chaos. I usually let other people order for me at restaurants. For goodness sake, I almost didn’t post this recipe.

 

Creme Fraiche, Cucumber, and Cabbage Salad with Nigella Seeds
*from Come In, We’re Closed, ed. Christine Carrol and Jody Eddy

3/4 cup creme fraiche (or substitute full-fat Greek yogurt)
1 tsp stone ground mustard seeds
1 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/2 cup canola oil
1 large cucumber, sliced into half moons
1 small head green cabbage, thinly sliced
1/2 cup coarsely chopped flat-leaf parsley
1 tbsp whole nigella seeds
salt and pepper, to taste

In a blender, combine the creme fraiche, mustard, and lemon juice and puree while adding oil in a slow, steady stream until emulsified. Pour into a large bowl and add the cucumber, cabbage, and parsley. Stir until everything is well coated. Season with nigella seeds, salt, pepper, and additional lemon juice, if desired. Refrigerate until chilled, then serve.

Serves 4.

2 thoughts on “Scolded [Creme Fraiche, Cucumber, and Cabbage Salad with Nigella Seeds]

Leave a Reply

