Thyme and Rocks [Parsley and Wild Rice Salad]

parsley-wild rice salad1

My garden is “in the ground”, if I can say that. We’re doing some vegetable and herb container gardening on the balcony this summer. Might as well make use of the 100 or so square feet we’ve got out there. The balconies in our building are huge!

So far things are looking pretty good with the tomato plants having tripled in size already. Also: I’ve solved the problem I’ve always had with my thyme being unhappy. Yes I was keeping it in a breathable pot with lean, dry soil — supposedly what it likes. But I’ll tell you what it was missing — rocks in the bottom. Even though the plant was in a drainage pot before, it seems to love these rocks.

parsley-wild rice salad3

Thank goodness this worked, as being cheap as heck I collected these rocks from around my neighbourhood. I really needed this to be worth it. Squatting down on the sidewalk to pick up rocks in busy downtown Toronto does draw some looks. Guess they thought I was picking up cigarette butts to finish off? Anyways, after one awkward outing I decided to bring the dog. That looked more normal.

One of the things I’m not growing in the garden this summer is parsley. We go through way too much parsley in this house to grow it ourselves. In fact, this has become one of our favourite salads. It’s great by itself, or served with a piece of crispy-skinned fish.

Parsley and Wild Rice Salad

1 bunch parsley, roughly chopped
1 cup wild rice, cooked and cooled
handful of dried cranberries
handful of toasted almonds, chopped
2 tbsp. rice vinegar
4 tbsp. olive oil
salt, to taste

Pour the rice vinegar and olive oil into a big bowl. Whisk to combine. Add the parsley, wild rice, almonds, and cranberries. Toss well. Season to taste with salt and more rice vinegar, if desired.

Leave a Reply

