Lifting [Tuna Ceviche]

tuna ceviche1

The intersection of food and fitness is such a cliche topic for a food blog. But today I’m going for it anyways.

Team sports aren’t really my thing. But running — been doing it since high school. Back in February, I set a fresh goal for myself that was completely outside of my comfort zone: get strong. A girl at work turned me on to weightlifting, and voila.

Getting strong has been an adventure in weight. And I don’t mean plates and barbells. I gained 8 pounds in my first month of lifting. That was scary. But I will say this: to any woman considering lifting as their primary form of exercise — do it! I’ve never gotten such a confidence boost from a workout program before.

tuna ceviche2    tuna ceviche3

Fast-forward to today and I’m undergoing my first “cut”. The concern with weight loss when you lift is always whether the weight you’re losing is fat or hard-earned muscle.

This light, protein and amino acid packed tuna ceviche is a dish I’ve been enjoying to feed my muscle children while shedding fat. I’ve only been getting stronger on my cut, so I must be doing something right.

Tuna Ceviche
*adapted from Mexican Everyday by Rick Bayless

1cup fresh lime juice
2 garlic cloves, peeled and roughly chopped
1cup (loosely packed) roughly chopped cilantro
1 jalapeño, stemmed and roughly chopped
1 lb sashimi grade tuna, medium dice
1/2 small ripe avocado, medium dice
1/2 ripe mango, peeled and cored, medium dice
1 head Boston lettuce, leaves torn
1 green onion, sliced fine
extra cilantro, for garnish
salt, to taste

In a blender, combine cilantro, jalapeño, garlic, and lime juice. Purée. Add salt to taste.

Scoop the fish into a large bowl. Pour the lime juice mixture over the fish. The mixture will “cook” the fish. You can leave the fish like this for up to 2 hours, depending on your preferred doneness.

Pour off half of the marinating mixture. Reserve. Toss the avocado and mango with the fish, then taste and add salt if necessary.

Divide the lettuce among four dinner plates. Scoop a portion of the ceviche  into the centre of each arrangement. Sprinkle with chopped onion and cilantro, for garnish. Drizzle some of the reserved lime marinade over the lettuce. Serve immediately.

Serves 4.

2 thoughts on “Lifting [Tuna Ceviche]

Leave a Reply

