Cuts and Citrus [Tuna, Blood Orange, and Baby Potato Salad with Gremolata]

tuna and orange salad4

We get a teaser in December with the Christmas oranges, but January is certainly the main event for citrus fruit. Spritzes of orange oil here and there as peels are torn open are a big part of what keeps me going in the coldest month of the year here in Canada.

This week, the classic combination of citrus and fish found themselves together on my plate. Normally I’m a big eater. A meal like this, essentially a salad, would be too light for me and I would have needed to eat again about 2 hours later. Reason being that I lift weights 5-6 times a week on an aggressive strength program. Two Thursdays ago, though, I cut one of my fingers quite badly while breaking down a box with scissors (dumb!!), slicing a jagged dime-sized chunk off of my right hand ring finger. It wasn’t painful, but it bled for over an hour and has been slow to close over, as the skin was cut right off. Unable to properly grip anything, this meant no weightlifting. The massive bandage also made it so that I couldn’t get a glove over my right hand. And that was when I also realized that I don’t even own a pair of mittens.

Woe was me, relegated to cardio and abs, fashion faux pas, and lean eating like this tuna salad. Thanks citrus for the rescue.

tuna and orange salad3

Tuna, Blood Orange, and Baby Red Potato Salad with Gremolata

3 blood oranges, peeled and sliced into rounds
15 baby red potatoes
7 oz can oil-packed albacore tuna, drained
1/4 cup parsley, finely minced
2 cloves garlic, finely minced
finely grated zest of 1 lemon
vegetable oil
salt, to taste
black pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 400F.

Parboil the potatoes until almost cooked. Drain the potatoes. Slice in half. Toss in a few spoonfuls of oil, and spread in an even layer in a cast iron skillet or oven-proof dish. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Transfer to preheated oven and roast until golden brown.

Meanwhile, combine the parsley, garlic, and lemon zest. This is your gremolata.

When to potatoes are cooked, arrange on a platter with the blood oranges. Crumble tuna in large chunks over the potatoes and oranges. Sprinkle the gremolata evenly over everything. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

